Dare to Detox?


Since before Christmas I’ve been having problems with abdominal bloating and discomfort. It got to the point that I had to stop running for a while. My doctor suggested trying a detox to identify possible food intolerances and recommended Carol Vorderman’s 28 Day Detox. I dutifully scoured Amazon for the book and also picked up a copy of the recipes and waited until I had a month without prearranged dinner dates!

So…today is the day the detox started!

The thought of a detox conjures up images of sloppy drinks and boring salads. However Carol Vorderman’s detox programme is well thought out, with balanced, nutritious and not to mention delicious recipes! Basically you give up meat (that’s OK, I’m veggie), dairy products, caffeine, wheat and alcohol, replacing these with healthier alternatives. I am nut intolerant and, unfortunately for me, a lot of the recipes have nuts in them. The plan does allow substitutions though and I’m working around any issues.

I realise that I’m just a day in, but I haven’t felt at all hungry especially having eaten this lot! I’m allowed as much fruit and veg in between meals as I want (I’ve had one apple and a handful of sultanas so far) as well as a snack later. Having also read through independent reviews I understand that I could lose a stone or more within the month, just by expelling waste that has clogged my system up for years.

Being a bit lighter will undoubtedly help my running, so I’m looking forward to that!

One thought on “Dare to Detox?

  1. Since posting this and chatting with friends on Facebook it struck me that it's amazing how many silent sufferers of abdominal bloating and associated pain there are. IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) obviously has degrees of severity and I don't think I'm as bad as others, but I do understand how debilitating it can be.

Leave a Reply

