The day after

I’m still pretty euphoric here, dancing on the ceiling, that I made the 10k target I set myself just before Christmas. My legs jittered all night, as they do after a longer run, and I was a bit stiff and sore in bed, but today I feel rested. I’ve got an appointment with my chiropractor, Bradley, later and I’m going to see about getting a massage.

So today will be about stretching, working on my proprioception skills and generally pampering myself!

On the detox front, all is going well. After weeks of eating (or trying and then binning) the bread I was having to buy or make, I’ve finally been given a great recipe for spelt bread. Spelt is far lower in gluten than wheat and so is allowed on my detox. Generally speaking most gluten intolerants can stomach spelt.

My recipe was:

550g wholegrain spelt flour
3 tbsp soya spread
300ml water
2 tsp salt
1.5 tsp sugar (I used sucralose)
I sachet/dessertspoon yeast

I placed all this in the bread maker on dough and after an hour and a half transferred the mix into a 2lb loaf tin and baked in a moderate oven (200ºC/380ºF) for 40 mins.

The resulting loaf looked like this and tasted as good as it looked! Apologies for the blurry pic – taken on my phone in low light, not a good combination.

If anyone reading has any good gluten free recipes, I’d be delighted to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

