Rocky

On Sunday I decided that I needed to get outside and run, instead of running on the treadmill. It was Edinburgh Marathon day and I wanted to support friends who were running in the marathon and the half by running ‘with’ them. All night long the rain had lashed down and I knew it had to be a road run as the trail would be flooded.

In between showers I managed to convince my hubbie to come with me. Running with me wasn’t an option and driving alongside would make him look like he was picking up a hooker, so he decided on riding his bike – providing the tyres weren’t flat. To anyone on the low road on Sunday, that wasn’t Rocky in pink, that was me with my trainer!

I was on target for a 5km run at pace to see how my training was going. Unfortunately I also chose a day of quite high winds (although after today’s storms I’m glad I ran yesterday!) which was on my face all the way out so I guessed my time wouldn’t be as good as it maybe could be.

I was pleasantly surprised though. I had upped my run/walk ratio to 4:1 and also upped the speed of the app. As I headed down the coast road, with the wind in my face, I wondered if I’d maybe changed too much at once. It was tough going, although hubbie later said he was impressed with the strength and form of my running and that my pace didn’t drop throughout the 5k. That’s good to hear.

As I headed back, with the wind and rain behind me, I knew I’d given my all in blustery conditions. After 36 minutes I’d covered 5.2km, but that included a 3 min warm up and 3 min cool down. I really don’t think I was far off my 30 minute 5k, but I neglected to use another GPS app to check it. The information I get from the Jeff Galloway app is pretty basic.

On a plus note I’ve signed up for my first 5k race in July. It’s one of the Race for Life Cancer Research UK races, unchipped as far as I know, but a great way for me to break my race virginity! I’m raising funds for Cancer Research (see the JustGiving link on the right) and so far I’m half was to my target thanks to some very generous friends!

Leave a Reply

