Learning to check labels or end up paying the price!

Since finding out that I am gluten intolerant I’ve had to become more careful choosing what foods I eat. At the very least eating gluten-laced products can leave me feeling exhausted; at worse I become hugely bloated and nauseous. 


Yesterday I spent all day researching gluten-free cake mixtures and ended up making some lovely cakes that my whole family are enjoying. I used spelt flour, which is not gluten free, but has a far lower gluten level than wheat. Any GF flour can be used.

Easy Cake Recipe

• 5 eggs
• 500 g sugar
• 500 g flour
• 250 g melted butter
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• 1 cup of sour cream (I used soya milk)

• 1 teaspoon xanthan gum


Preheat the oven to 175°C – 347°F


• Beat eggs with sugar using an electric mixer.
• Add melted butter, flour, baking powder, and sour cream.
• Mix well. 



I used this recipe to fill 24 bun cases and 2 sponge tins. 



Victoria Sponge – took about 30 minutes to bake
Iced with vanilla frosting and filled with buttercream 

12 of the 24 iced buns I also made!

Last night though, after dancing practice, I treated myself to a packet of crisps (US=chips). I didn’t check the label, not realising that not all crisps are gluten free. Straight away I felt ill. On checking I found that I’d chosen the packet with gluten in! 


So from now on I just need to be more stringent! 

Leave a Reply

