A GF Veggie Christmas!

The big day has passed, but I thought that some of you might be interested in what I cooked for my Christmas lunch as someone who avoids wheat, nuts, meat and fish!

Most people can’t see past having turkey at Christmas; I can’t ever imagine having something die just to feed my own gluttony, but each to their own. I’m not a preacher, I don’t set out to convert anyone, although it amazes me how many people tell me that they hardly ever eat meat once they know that I never eat it!

This year my husband, a determined meat eater, decided to join me so that we could have a totally meat free Christmas. He didn’t quite last all day, bless him, but our lunch was completely meat free.

We researched the menu quite a lot before the day. In many ways eating a traditional dinner is an easy option. It doesn’t really call for a great deal of thought; it can just be the same old, same old. We needed something that was nut free and wheat free as well as containing no meat, but we needed to think about the entire meal with flavours that complemented each other.

We quickly decided on a frittata as hubbie had seen Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall cook one on his Veg Garden series and liked the look of it. I combined Hugh’s recipe with another to make a goat’s cheese, courgette, sweet red pepper and green bean frittata. Using our own chicken eggs was an added bonus. If only I had a goat…

We love Indian food – it’s very veggie and gluten free friendly. Once I’d sourced some gram (chickpea) flour in Dumfries we decided to make our own pakora as a starter. We followed HFW’s recipe for cauliflower and sweet corn pakora. They took a while to cook as we had to fry them in small batches, but stayed crispy in the oven and were totally delicious. Thankfully we made a truck load so I have plenty for today and the next day etc etc.

To accompany the main I found two potato recipes using an app called WholeFoods; smashed potatoes with crumbled Stilton and oven roasted potatoes with thyme and rosemary. Both were delicious, totally different to each other. Finally I honey roasted fresh carrots.

The combined flavours were astonishing, nothing too rich, everything subtly bouncing off each other dish! To those of you with the imagination to look past using meat or fish in every meal, please have a look at these recipes, I can guarantee that you will fall in love with something!Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

