Promising, out loud

Bank Holiday weekends and what to do! We decided that staying at home and doing the same old, same old wasn’t really on and so my husband and I took a well earned break to a hotel just on the outskirts of a town south of Glasgow. We’ve stayed there before and knew that it had leisure suite which we could use as and when. In truth we were showing my car at a local car show and were making a long weekend of it. Why not!

We arrived late on the Saturday, too late to get a swim or run in before dinner. Never mind, tomorrow would do.

Tomorrow came and, right enough, I promised myself out loud (because out loud promises are heard by others and remembered and so have to be kept!) that I would go and try out the treadmill at the gym between coming back from the car show and having dinner. I wandered across with hubbie who was planning on a swim and suddenly remembered that I didn’t have a water bottle. Don’t worry, he said, gyms have water coolers.

After signing in we went our separate ways, with me heading up to the gym. It was fairy quiet and no one else was running so I had my pick of the treadmills. I chose one away from the door and then tried to figure out the radio/TV socket for my earphones. I was walking by this time and realised that there was no radio, just the mind numbing muzak blaring out that everyone was trying to block out with their own iPods, and that the TVs were all set to different stations. The one in front of me had Songs of Praise on it, a religious programme for people who like watching other people go to church.

Eamonn HolmesBy the time I’d started running Eamonn Holmes (a daytime TV presenter here) was bestowing the virtues of some seaside town and I was less than inspired. The treadmill, however, was wonderful! It was twice as wide as mine, with different displays to mine including pace and an electronic incline! How positively wonderful! I did a mile at just under 10 minute mile pace and realised quickly just how hot it was in the gym that appeared to have no ventilation or fans or anything. Perhaps, I wondered, this was why the rest weren’t running! I stopped to look for the elusive water cooler. It wasn’t in the gym. It wasn’t outside either. I went into the locker room and took a swig from the fountain. That would have to do.

By the time I got back to my treadmill my first mile information had disappeared. This wasn’t going to do. I’d also put on a pair of shorts which were proving to be too short and my legs had started to rub together. I’d planned to do 6 miles, but 6 miles with no water bottle, chaffed thighs and Eamonn Holmes was a killer. I decided that I would run a fast two miles and call it quits.

After getting changed I went to find my husband in the pool, only to find that he’d already left! I did 10 lengths of the 20m pool and came out.

We arrived home yesterday afternoon and, after completing chores, I made up my mind to run my 6 miles. I did it on my treadmill, in my cabin at the end of the garden, with my last Matrix film on the TV and wearing my long shorts!

I ran the first 3 miles in 28 minutes, which was pleasing enough and then carried on until I reached 6 miles. I did it in 59:50. I had been annoyed with myself for not keeping up with my weekly long runs and felt that I might start losing form if I kept running short distances, but doing a 10k in under 60 minutes was good for my body and my mind. I’m a little sore today, not much – just quads and hips – but feel quite pleased with myself! If I push, I know I can do it.

I just need to promise out loud.

Leave a Reply

