Avoiding last minute preparations

Well here we are. I have a few days left until the biggest race I’ll probably ever do. Depending on how it goes I might not do the Great North Run again. I don’t like all this worry leading up to the event, to be honest. I like small events, those without worries of where to park or which bus to get to get to the start! Ones where my husband can walk from the start to the finish without having to take a bus.

Anyway.

So, I’ve destroyed my charity vest. It’s a shame, but the vest was just big enough and, I’m sure, would have chaffed and I’m not taking the chance. Instead I’ve cut the printed matter out and pinned it to the back of my chosen Nike vest.

20120912-095004 PM.jpg

The front looks like this:

20120912-095145 PM.jpg

I’ve also been updating my playlist, taking off some tunes that were annoying me and adding some that I thought might help. My playlist now looks like this (prepare yourself):

The Chain – Fleetwood Mac
Crazy Little Thing Called Love – Queen
Sultans of Swing – Dire Straits
Crocodile Rock – Elton John
Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting – Elton John
Sex on Fire – Kings of Leon
Sweet Hitch-Hiker – Creedence Clearwater Revival
Hanging on the Telephone – Blondie
Promises – Eric Clapton
Don’t Stop Me Now – Queen
My Generation – The Who
Bang a Gong – Blondie
Ballroom Blitz – The Sweet
Paranoid – Black Sabbath
Whatever You Want – Status Quo
Highway to Hell – AC/DC
Whole Lotta Rosie – AC/DC
You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
Mr Blue Sky – ELO
Town Called Malice – The Jam
Caroline – Status Quo
Down Down – Status Quo
Bright Side of the Road – Van Morrison
Slow An’ Easy – Whitesnake
Here I Go Again – OK Go!
Signed, Sealed, Delivered – Stevie Wonder
Hold on Tight – ELO
Dancing in the Street – Martha and the Vandellas
Get Ready – Rare Earth
Sex-O-Matic Venus Freak – Macy Gray
Finally – More & Twizt
Some Kinda Rush – Booty Luv
I Need a Miracle – KLM Music
Just Dance – Radio G
Pump Up the Jam – D.O.N.S.

Any suggestions for good pumping rock songs are welcomed!

12 thoughts on “Avoiding last minute preparations

    1. I guess that’s the idea! I just laugh at the ‘having such a good time’ line at the end of a long run! Yeah, right – bloody brilliant!! I had to take one track off because, for all the world, it sounded like a car behind me, revving up. Not a good sound for a runner!

      1. hahaha! I also had a couple that had weird sound effects, started sounding like sirens. Also not the most pleasant thing to keep thinking something behind you wants to run you over. I also quite enjoy Billy Idols’ dancing with myself. Somehow I see it as dancing/running by myself hehe. Good luck with you race!

      2. Brilliant, thank you! I had White Wedding and another Billy Idol track that escapes me now on my list, but never heard it because the bpm was too slow! I’ll add Dancing with Myself and see if it qualifies!!

  1. Oh and I meant to say, great playlist! Have you been looking through my CD collection? A few other favourites of mine are Echo Beach by Martha and the Muffins, No More Heroes by the Stranglers and Ruby by the Kaiser Chiefs. You’ve probably guessed I’ve got a varied taste!

      1. For a final push at the end what about I predict a riot by the Kaiser Chiefs. I think I am of an age, which one I’ve not decided on.

      2. Yes, I did have that and took it off last night. I’m not sure why, but it wasn’t quite working for me. I don’t get to choose what comes on when. The LoLo app does that for me if I’m listening to that.

  2. No adds to your playlist, Julie – although I smiled at a number of them on your list!

    Just well wishes for #39770 that you have a good run!

    Best –

    -Eric

Leave a Reply

