The Post Run Blues

Ahh, this is them then, the post big race blues. I’ve not experienced this feeling before, having only done small races with very little hype. I find myself in the biggest set of doldrums I’ve been in for a very long time, not quite knowing how to get out.

I was so full of emotion after the Great North Run that I didn’t quite know how to express it. Some of it came out as anger against the crowds that caused my husband to miss my finish and kept me waiting for him for over an hour after the race. Some of it was despondency – how can I put myself through that again. And some of it was just delight at having been there at the largest ever biggest half marathon in the world.

The race itself, the joy that was the race, was getting lost beneath all these all negative emotions and I had to step back and deal with that. I found myself sending ranting tweets to celebrities who dared to tweet how wonderfully organised the event was. I was pretty wound up at the way I was left feeling after the race but, apart from the people who called for the buses to be emptied too early, I have no beef with the event organisers. Everything else was caused by the sheer volume of people attending. And the only way they can deal with that is to further cap entries.

I enjoyed running with Murphy on Tuesday, totally naked of technology and just running as I wanted. Slowly and without breaking into a sweat was what I needed. Today it’s very wet and the light isn’t good. I won’t chance running on the road or running through the woods – I will be hopping onto the treadmill and making the best of a rotten day.

I am now looking at what to do next. I’ve promised that I will do the Rock and Roll Half Marathon in Edinburgh next April. I think I will make that my big event of the year. I can always put my name down for the GNR 2013 ballot and let fate decide if I am to do the event next September.

In the meantime there is the Jedburgh Running Festival at the end of October and I have a choice of a 10k and a half marathon there. There are some other options available, I just need to work round the rest of my life.

And stop stressing. Life is too short for stressing.

6 thoughts on “The Post Run Blues

  1. It’s funny how these things can affect your mood. I guess it has as much to do with the hormone release and rebalance asit has to do with anything that actually occurred (or didn’t) at the event. Too logical? Maybe, but thinking that way helps me through these things and maybe it’ll be a help to you. I hope so.
    Fraser

    1. I expect it has as much to do with the fact that for the last year all I’ve thought about is doing the Great North Run, and now it’s done – what do I do now? You’ll be the same after your peaks challenge I expect. You dedicate all of your spare time to doing this one thing and then *poof* it’s disappeared! Once I’ve established my next big challenge, I’ll be fine! I guess that’s me now – I’ll forever be looking for the next thing to do and I think that’s great.

  2. Seems like it would natural to have a let down after a big race and goal attainment like you enjoyed. I would just schedule another race (like a 5 or 10k) and then train for it – you’ll be set in a week.

    My race blew up on me. I finished, but not happily. I conquered the Achilles’ problem only to have a nagging knee issue come up two weeks ago on a 9.25 mile run on a barked trail (a cut short 14 miler because I was concerned about the Achilles’ issue). Thought I had worked through that enough to run, but should have switched to the 5 miler event in retrospect. Out at about mile 7 the inside of my knee started complaining again and I slowed considerably off my target pace I had planned to go through mile 9, which I was otherwise holding nicely on a lovely, lovely Fall day.

    Anyway – all race day goals other than just finishing went out the window there. It was a painful struggle to get back and finish in a disappointing last place in my age group. I did manage to smile and flash a victory “V” sign to the photographer at the finish.

    No permanent damage I think, but my hopes for a 2:30:00 or better first half were dashed (Galloway suggested I could even go 2:10:00 on a good day based on MM).

    Anyway – well done again, nice to “train” with you remotely and enjoyed your posts.

    Next up for me is a 5K just before Christmas, and then we’ll see. I had planned to run another half in April, but that’s a long way off.

    Cheers to you!

    1. Oh Eric, so sorry to hear about your injuries. That’s such a shame after all the training. I’m sure it’ll stand you in good stead for the next time though. My chiropractor identified a tight ITB as the cause of my knee niggles a way back – might be worth investigating.

      If you only have a 5k to prepare for it might be worth cranking back and getting to the bottom of your knee worries, for peace of mind if nothing else!

      I was so relieved that my ankle played ball. After resting it and not running from the Tuesday onwards I had no niggles from it at all on the day. I am sure though that my new running shoes have helped. Every time I put them on I feel as if I’m wearing slippers!

      I’m still trying to decide between a 10k and a half at the end of October.

      Do keep in touch – I’d like to hear that you’ve got the time you wanted.

Leave a Reply

