EnergyBits

Just after Christmas I started being followed on Twitter by an American company called EnergyBits. Intrigued, I looked at their website and started to read up on their products.

EnergyBits are small tablets made from algae, 100% natural, 100% green, 100% raw. Gluten and additive free, just pure algae. I won’t bore you with the blurb; you can read it yourself by clicking the logo:

After chatting on Twitter to the company they were happy to send a sample to me through the post and it finally arrived last week. NASA give a similar fuel to their astronauts and they say “1kg of algae has the nutritional equivalent to 1000kg of fruit and vegetables.”

Today’s long run was fueled by EnergyBits. I took 30 pills (they are just small) before I set off and carried a sports drink from Morrisons. It was a big test, the weather was atrocious with gale force winds. Usually I would run for 60 minutes with just a sports drink and anything after that I would fuel with gels/dextrose. Today I ran for 90 minutes on EnergyBits and juice.

I have enough in my sample tin for another run, so I’ll give them another chance before I decide to buy a batch or not, but so far I’m quite impressed.

Leave a Reply

