MishMash

This post is going to be a mishmash of all the things I’ve done this week. It may not make any sense! Just go with me on this.

Training

Training is going well, if being permanently knackered counts as “going well”. I must admit that I’m finding the Improve you Half Marathon element of the Jeff Galloway Half Marathon training app tough.

I’m doing things I haven’t done much of before (proper interval training) as well as things I’ve never tried before (gliders, cadence counting). The gliders and cadence are fine; the intervals are killers! 800m

reps at 12.2 kph/7.6mph with 3 minutes walk in between (not even rest!!) is hard and sometimes, I admit, I’m not always making it to the end of each interval.

However, I will persevere.

I’m up to Week 7 of the plan now and looking forward to a dry and sunny 11 mile run this coming weekend.

Ab exercises

What a mess I’ve made of this. I am naturally stiff in the neck and shoulder; I can’t help it, that’s where I carry my stress. Before, when I was doing a Plank-a-Day, I had to stop because my neck kept going into spasm. I thought I was doing well with my Ab Workout, but the week before last I had to stop. My neck and upper back were solid.

My son, who is completing a B.Tech in Sports at the local college, asked what my posture was like and, of course, I had no idea because I can’t see myself! My husband said that I tend to lift my head first before coming up and my son thinks that this is the problem. He reckons I should be looking straight up towards the ceiling. I’ll try again, although at the moment the only thing I want to do is a nice bit of yoga to try and relax a few stiff muscles.

Shoes

The GoRuns are still performing well, although I think I’m landing heavier than I was wearing my Brooks. It might just be my imagination, but I seem to be fair slapping my feet on the treadmill. I don’t feel any more tired though and my legs aren’t suffering.

 

Music

I need to refresh my running music. Much as I love the Quo, I need something else as well to get me going. I keep looking at iTunes and most of the albums (showing my age here) seem to be full of songs I’ve never heard of. I did see one a while back that was all rock songs, which would be great, but I’m still to track it down.

Nutrition

I’m seriously impressed by the EnergyBits. That’s two good runs I’ve taken them for, just a handful before setting off, and they’ve powered me up to 90 minutes with juice. They aren’t the nicest things to take, that’s the drawback, and I don’t know how I’d manage with them on a run because they are the same size as an average vitamin pill and you have to take between 20 and 40 at a time! This last time I took 20 in one go and they aren’t sweeties! I’m going to look at pricing though, see if it’s feasible.

I also discovered this last week that potato crisps are on my list of banned substances. It must be to do with the way they are produced because even the supposed gluten free ones are giving me the most awful stomach cramps. I’m sticking to tortilla chips and the like, unless I find something that is labelled “gluten free, we promise – stick needles in our eyes if we lie.”

 

Leave a Reply

