The Next Big Challenge

As usual I’ve lost a bit of direction having finished my training programme. On Sunday I finished with a 7 mile run, a run in which I had to stop and rescue a couple of escaped lambs and I’m struggling to find the momentum to carry on. On Wednesday I managed a paltry treadmill run of 4km and it was hard going. Admittedly it was raining heavily, on and off, and I had little time, but I would have much rather run 3 miles through the woods, up to my knees in mud with my small dog snapping at my dirty heels.

But I didn’t.

So, it’s now Saturday night and rather than spend it down the local pub with my husband I’m sitting here looking for ‘The Next Big Challenge’. It’s not easy; I can only races on Sundays as I work on a Saturday and I don’t want to travel hundreds of miles to find a race. My diary is already half filled with car events; as secretary of a local car club I have to attend so many of these during the show season (between May and September).

run_challenge

So far I’ve booked two. On July 21st I’m booked to do the Cross Border Challenge 10k which goes from Gretna to Carlisle. For some reason I missed this in its inaugural year, so I’m happy to bring up the rear in this year’s!

I also have the honour of being the very first person to sign up for a return to the hills of Jedburgh in October. The last two year’s have seen me battle with hill after hill for 10k and last year I knocked 2 minutes of my PB – I want to see if I can repeat that! Sucker for punishment, perhaps, but I like the atmosphere of this race.

I’m struggling to find a half marathon on a day I can manage, within 100 miles. I had hoped to do the Dumfries Half, but that is on the same day as a car event.

So maybe what I need to do is to work on my short race speed. I have no 5ks on the horizon. There is one in Dumfries, but it also clashes with a car show. I’m not desperate to do the Race for Life again (it’s not actually 5 kilometres long so I’d only be looking at improving on my last year’s time.) I promised my supporters that I would give fund raising a rest this year so if I do sign up for this race it’ll be for whatever I donate myself. Maybe “short” should mean subbing that 60 min 10k? I’ll check out my training programmes and see if I can be race ready for July 21st!

I’m still looking, but at least I have two more races booked.

 

Leave a Reply

