Training with Garmin

Always looking for a fresh idea, I’ve had a look at the new training plans on the Garmin website. I’ve uploaded two to my watch; a half marathon one starting in a few weeks and a 10k one starting tonight with an easy 30 minute run. I’m coming in half way through the 10k programme but I’ll let that overlap with the half programme. I’m sure it’ll not matter, but I think a bit of 10k action might just give me the boost I need. At the moment I’m waiting on my dinner settling and the temperatures to cool a tad. It’s not often I can say that, but running in the heat isn’t something a red headed, pale skinned runner should do, unless they want sunstroke!

This week’s plan looks like this:

Week 6
03/06/2013 Rest  

 

Rest day.

 
04/06/2013 W06D2-Recovery Run 

 • Run, easy pace, 30 minutes.

• Run, easy pace, 30 minutes.

• Cool down, 5 to 10 minutes.

• Stretch.

 
05/06/2013 W06D3-Threshold Run

• Run, easy pace, 20 minutes.

• Run, threshold pace, 20 minutes.

• Run, easy pace, 20 minutes.

• Cool down, 5 to 10 minutes.

• Stretch.

 
06/06/2013 W06D4-Cross Training

Cross train, 20 minutes. Repeat 2 times. Stretch.

 
07/06/2013 Rest

Rest day.

 
08/06/2013 W06D6-Intervals

 • Warm up, 10 minutes.

• Run, 10K pace, 3 minutes. Recovery jog, 2 minutes. Repeat 6 times.

• Cool down, 5 to 10 minutes.

• Stretch.

09/06/2013 W06D7-Long Run

• Run, easy pace, 80 minutes.

• Cool down, 5 to 10 minutes.

• Stretch.

Now my first issue is that my long run day will probably be Monday instead of Sunday and I can’t alter that on the plan, but I’m sure I can survive that!

My second issue is running for 80 minutes will land me a certain distance from the house, depending on my pace. My plan, therefore, is to run for 40 minutes and turn round, although I can do my favourite loop in about 40 minutes, so doing that twice would be a solution.

It’ll be interesting to see what I make of ‘easy pace’ after having Jeff Galloway telling me how fast to run and when to do it, but I’m happy to give it a try! I might even like it.

 

Leave a Reply

