Into Week Two

Here I am on the eve of my long run day, sitting with my foot up after doing more exercises to ease off my still painful Plantar Fascia tendon. It’s not really getting any better, despite multi-daily stretches and massage. Today I have spent a lot of the day on my feet and, at 5pm, my heel is protesting loudly which augurs badly for any prospect of running 13 miles tomorrow.

My heart wants to run. It says head out on a there and back course, run as far as you can, it might ease as you run and, if not, you can turn round and limp home.

My head says don’t be so bloody stupid. You are injured. There is no desperate need for you to run 13 miles or any miles at all until you are better. You can easily run 13 miles on any good day. Missing one long run is not going to ruin your training, but running 13 miles on an injured foot might just stop your training completely.

My head is going to win. As much as I want to run tomorrow and as much as I am not wanting to postpone my training for any length of time, I can’t risk making matters worse. Hopefully taking another week off, continuing with the stretches, massages and icing will do the trick and next week I can pick up where I left off.

My fingers are crossed because it’s too painful to cross my toes!

Mind you, if I had fingers as crossed as this maybe it would my mind off my sore feet!
Mind you, if I had fingers as crossed as this maybe it would my mind off my sore feet!
3 thoughts on “Into Week Two

Leave a Reply

