Streaking Through to Christmas

First of all I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has been checking up on my progress and maladies since I last posted. Knowing that people whom I have never met care enough to reach out is very comforting.

I’m back running, albeit on the treadmill as our days are light for just six hours now and I’m working all of them. As Christmas hurtles towards us I’m also struggling to find time to run for any decent distance so instead I’ve reverted to my running pattern for this time of year – a run streak.

I have to point out, that's not me, that's Will Farrell. My hair is longer.
I have to point out, that’s not me, that’s Will Farrell.
My hair is longer.

My rules for my run streak are simple. I run every day. It doesn’t matter where I run, but I allow myself a minimum of fifteen minutes. That’s it. Run every day for at least fifteen minutes. Of course with warm up and cool down time it looks more like half an hour, but that’s the beauty of making fifteen minutes the minimum. I can find half an hour a day, but I can’t always RUN for half an hour a day. Sad as that sounds.

pink-elephant-trauma-recoveryToday I got up early and woke my neighbours up by pounding out my minimum on the treadmill in the cabin at the end of the garden. Apparently I can be heard for miles, although I think they might be taking the mickey. Or maybe my childhood nickname of Fairy Elephant might be more appropriate than I realised. I did a quick 2.6km in 15 minutes, giving me a respectable 9:15 min/mile pace. Go me.

My Daily Mile stats tell me that I’ve run 568 miles this year. I would have liked to have got a nice round 600 by New Year, but if I don’t I won’t be overly upset since I’ve had Plantar Fasciitis for half of it!

Talking of which, it’s still not properly gone away. I get heel ache after running and walking and standing. Nothing like as bad as it was and I do massage and ice it and, if it’s bad, I wear my night splint. All of this helps, but nothing has cured it completely. It is bearable though and I shouldn’t complain.

So all that leaves me to do is to wish everyone reading a very Merry Christmas! You can keep up with my run streak on Daily Mile or Twitter, just follow the links on the right of the screen.

mk07xmas10

 

 

4 thoughts on “Streaking Through to Christmas

  1. Hi Julie,
    Just dropped by to wish you a Very Happy Christmas – and an INJURY FREE NEW YEAR. Your streaky fifteen minutes on the dreadmill is more than I’m doing at the mo, but hoping to get firing on all cylinders again in 2014.
    I’ll bet that little dog of yours will be happier when you’re running outside again – or have you taught it to run on the dreadmill?

    Cheers!

    1. Thank you, Gordon, and the same to you and yours! Have a lovely Christmas.

      Murphy hates the treadmill, he won’t come near it! He’s missing his trail runs and has acquired a rather tubby tummy! We’ll have to sort that out this week in between typhoons! I miss it too.

      Looking forward to an injury free 2014, full of PBs and smiles!

Leave a Reply

