Planning Ahead

goal_without_a_plan

 

I’m planning. I’m actually re-planning having taken a long, hard look at myself and my current level of fitness. I struggled to stay uninjured last year and this year I’ve, maybe foolishly, entered three half marathons. I have given myself time in between them to recover (I’m not that daft) but that’s one more half than I tried last year.

I’m still adamantly and determinedly sticking to Jeff Galloway for my inspiration and instruction. I’m 50 this year, difficult as it is to believe that, and I’m wanting to carry on running for many years to come. Jeff, at 69 this year, is still running marathons. That’s good enough recommendation for me!

I had already put my training plan on the calendar. It was Jeff’s ‘improver’ plan which focused on speed training. It was giving me a predicted half time of 2:17. Today I got out Jeff’s ‘Galloway Book on Running’  and had a look at the 2:20 goal plan (the next one is 1:59, which is a lovely thought, but way out my league. Maybe one day!) It seemed less intensive. And, if I’m honest, that’s a good thing bearing in mind how stressful speed training is on the body. I realise that I need only to feel that I have finished a half marathon to the best of my ability and the last two I’ve done I’ve not felt that. Quite the reverse. I’ve been plagued by atrocious weather conditions and one injury after another and my running has suffered.

So, the answer was clear. I needed to just train to finish.

My training starts tomorrow with an easy 3 mile run, followed by a thirty minute run on Wednesday and another on Friday. I finish the week with a 1 ¼ mile walk on Saturday and then a 4 mile easy run on Monday next. Jeff’s app is going to keep me on track (and the road) and I’m just about to source some new running music.

The plan then is to cross train on the days I’m not running in order to build up core strength and stamina and I know I’ve said that before on here and done sweet F.A. about it. I recently bought a great resource in the ‘Core Strength Training’ book by DK Books. It features core training which is sport-specific, gives level of difficulty and progression for each exercise. I need to focus on those which don’t involve crunches to spare me from neck injury, the main reason (beside apathy) why I haven’t succeeded in following my own advice in the past! So I’m looking at Reverse Curls, Leg Circles, Leg Lifts, Hip Rolls and so on. If I start with foundation exercises and make those more difficult then maybe I’ll be strong enough to move onto Intermediate level! Woo-hoo.

The mantra is slow and steady, in everything. Build up gradually and try not to get hurt!

Leave a Reply

