The Silent Runner

I may have been quiet over the last few weeks, but I’ve still been running. My Achilles heel problem quietly subsided leaving me with a tight calf, but that’s all. My lovely chiropractor has identified two trigger points on my calf and worked on those last week whilst I bit down on the treatment bed, but ultimately relieved the tightness.
20140411-091410 pm.jpg
I’m back up to 9 miles and with six weeks to go to my first half marathon I’m feeling pretty strong. My speed is slowly coming back and my endurance is good. I’m running 2:1 ratios on trails and 2.30:1 on the road. This might sound odd but I’m happier running faster for short periods than slower for longer. I’m permanently running fartlek! I’m planning to increase the running intervals on longer runs. My shorter runs are either off road or on the treadmill, depending on what I can manage to do.

I’ve been testing out my chia seed gels and apart from them being a bit chewy, they are great! I’m getting into the habit of taking them regularly on long runs, taking only water with me rather than taking sports drinks. They are quite big, that’s the only drawback. I can fit two into my armband, I might manage three, but then I’ll be stuck. However three might be enough if I follow advice and take one on the start line.

Tonight I did a 30 minute trail run, about 2 1/2 miles, accompanied by my little dog and my mountain biking hubbie. I went out quite quickly, but backed off a bit coming home mainly because it’s mostly uphill and that places extra stress on my heel. I’m being sensible, looking at the big picture and listening to my body. It was a good run, a stronger run again. In fact each time I go out I feel stronger, faster, better. It’s a relief after months of injury.

Next Saturday, quite unbelievably perhaps, I have an appointment with a podiatrist. I walked past his door this morning and doubled back thinking it was about time I saw him. I explained that I was a runner coming back after injury and he asked me to come back, bringing my running shoes, orthoptic inserts and anything else I’ve used to help me. I’ll get the tow bar on the car then…

This week we’ll be testing our trailer tent in Yorkshire. I’ve got an 11 mile run on Monday, so I’ll be looking at the quiet roads and planning a route (and taking a map!) I’ve treated myself to some nice new Karrimore running vests, so I’m hoping the weather will be warm enough to wear them!

On the fundraising front I’ve managed to alter my page so that it doesn’t just follow the EMF Half. Instead I have a challenge page and I’ve raised £65 so far. If I raise £100 per race I’ll be happy, so I’m not far off the first target of £100 for this one. A bit of promotion wouldn’t go amiss, I suppose!

20140411-092447 pm.jpg

www.justgiving.com/julie-hollis3

Leave a Reply

