Running Home and Away

Last week hubbie and I went away to Oban, on the west coast of Scotland, for a few days R&R. We had decided, at the start of the summer, that taking a few short breaks would be less disruptive to our businesses and lives than taking one long holiday. We had already visited Coniston in the English Lake District for a few days at the start of the school holidays and Oban was our next destination. Mindful of how I worried about running in Coniston I contacted the Oban Runners via their Facebook page prior to leaving, just to check out some routes. They recommended a 6 mile loop around a loch about a mile away from where we were camped which sounded perfect.

DSC_2951
With views like this I might forget to breathe! ©Julie Hollis, 2014
IMG_3248
Gorgeous weather has followed us around the north of Britain!
IMG_3250
The only piece of road I ran on!

I was, however, meant to do a 4 mile run on the Monday we were away, with one of the miles timed. After a reccy walk on the day before we discovered that the route between the campsite and the loch ran mostly along a disused railway track and was almost completely off road. It was ideal. Instead of running around the loch (and believe me I was sorely tempted) I decided to run out for two miles and then run back. It meant that 3 miles were largely in the shade of trees and, with the weather so warm even first thing in the morning, this was important. It also meant that I could do my warm up mile to the loch and then do my timed mile along the loch shore (which was pretty flat). For once I had it planned to perfection! The only possible fly in the ointment was that the shower block closed at 10.30 for cleaning, so I needed to be back before then in order to get cleaned up!

 

My warm up mile was a nice easy one at 10:40. I’ve been running 2:30/1 ratios because these seem to suit me at the moment so imagine my surprise at seeing my fastest mile of the year at 9:22 pop up! I was gobsmacked. This must go to prove that there is truth to what Jeff Galloway says – walk breaks can help to make you faster. I ran an easy two miles home at 11:32 and 11:08, making it home before the showers closed!

The view after my Magic Mile! Loch Creran is a beautiful and tranquil place.
The view after my Magic Mile! Loch Creran is a beautiful and tranquil place.

I know that run walking isn’t for everyone and my efforts are often met with a mixture of confusion and disapproval in races, but using these methods I’m getting faster and recovering from injuries quicker. I can easily sustain 9 minute mile running in the two and half minutes when I have to and walking for a minute adds surprisingly little to the overall pace. Basically it works for me.

Yesterday was my long run day again and I was down for 12 ½ miles. The weather seemed to have cooled down a tad from the furnace we’ve been living in for the past month or so (I’m not complaining, but it has made training difficult for this pale skinned Celt!) and I was looking forward to some cool running. Unfortunately that wasn’t to be and despite setting off early I was thwarted by the heat yet again. At 3 ½ miles I decided to turn back, making 7 miles and then run the 5 ½ later when it would have hopefully cooled down again. Despite the weather the 7 miles were bang on long run pace, one minute slower per mile than race pace. When it became clear that I would be running in the dark before the temperature and humidity reduced I opted to complete the run on the treadmill. Fanned and entertained by Star Trek Voyager, I ran the rest of the 12 miles at a slightly faster pace.

This morning I knew I’d almost run a half marathon! My quads, hip flexors and abductors were all complaining when I moved, but a long walk with the dog solved most of that. Whilst walking I was able to stop and take some photographs of the trail where I tend to do my short runs. The trail has changed such a lot over the last few months, with entire sections of the forest removed by the timber workers, it’s really quite odd to see.

On a nutrition note I’ve decided to ditch the chia seed gels I’d been trying. This is for a few reasons; they are expensive, have a short shelf life (great for long distance runners, but out of date by the time I need them) and they are bit too gooey for me. I’m still looking for something, but in the meantime I’m using a combination of Dextro energy tablets and jelly beans. Any ideas on this would be appreciated.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Running Home and Away

  1. I make 10gram marzipan marbles, sometimes with chopped dried fruit. This gives carbs and protein, and fill me up. Washed down with ISO star from holland and Barrat when on offer.
    Marzipan is cheap. You can make up a number of balls and keep in fridge.
    Hope this is helpful.
    IanB

      1. Doh! Never thought of that. I also use my wife’s homemade flapjack- but I suppose that might have been in touch with nuts. Good luck in your search, I hope you find a solution. Best wishes IanB

        Sent from my iPad

      2. No, only eat in small bites ( hence small 10g balls or flapjack equivalent) but regular, also drinking helps. Have used zip gels in 10 mile races, helpful with caffeine after 7miles to ensure I get to the end!!

        I am always worried I will be hungry, think it comes from cycling, as 100k on the bike is 4/5 hours so need food, can’t manage on gels. When I do a 15mile run I like to carry solid food. I only run off road, either Dorset coast or Exmoor or Quantocks hills. No offence taken with wife’s flapjack! Have a good weekend IanB

        Sent from my iPad

      3. Sorry, I also don’t eat meat or fish so try to avoid jelly babies etc. IanB

        Sent from my iPad

  2. Jelly beans are okay though – no gelatine in those. I love fig rolls – haven’t had those for years, but then I’m gluten free too so I’d need to source gf ones. It’s a bloody nightmare!! I’ll look up zip gels – I’m okay with gels, I just struggle to open them in races! Sweaty hands don’t open fiddly tops. Cheers Ian. Have a good weekend too.

Leave a Reply

