Picking up the 10k baton

My feet have barely touched the ground and I’m already running headlong towards my next race, the 10k at Jedburgh Running Festival. The running festival takes place over the last weekend in October and now boasts a 10k,  half-marathon, an ultra-marathon and a canicross event! I’ve done the 10k for the last few years, amassing a colourful collection of t-shirts as a result!

IMG_3788

After my GCR half the other week I was feeling elated, but tired. It’s been a training-heavy summer. Last Monday I was meant to do an 8 mile run, but I was past caring and managed a reluctant three and a half miles on the treadmill. In fact, since the GCR I’ve only run nine miles and most of those indoors. So this week, with just a few days to go, I thought I should shake the dust off my trainers and do something purposeful!

If I’m totally honest, I’m not worried about my lack of miles at this point. I’ve trained and trained and trained all summer, with no let up. If I’m not able to run a mere six miles at the drop of a hat there must be something wrong! I’ve reinstalled LoLo’s iPhone app ‘Easy 10k with Jeff Galloway’ and set it for the ‘improve 10k’ training, for what that’s worth in the week before the event! I was set for a 5k race rehearsal today and, having wasted most of my day updating other blogs and watching junk TV, I decided to do it on the treadmill – surprise, surprise. I promise that I will do some trail running this week to make up for my slovenly treadmillness of late!

I ran a five minute warm up, followed by the 5k at race speed. I was really looking forward to seeing how fast my 5k was, not having bothered to clock it as I ran, but I was really disappointed to see that the app didn’t log it. It logs Magic Miles, storing them in the ‘History’ tab, but seemingly not anything else. I’ve been trying to work it; the run was 40:04 mins long, subtract 6 minutes for walking at the start and the end leaves 34 minutes, subtract a further 5 minutes for the warm up run and my 5k should be 29:04 minutes (approximately). That’ll have to do, I suppose. As a treadmill 5k that’s fine. I’m a bit peeved that the app didn’t do this though and, if I’d known, I’d have timed it myself.

I have two runs left before the race on Sunday, a 6.1km run made up of 1 mile easy, 2 miles at 10k pace and a 5 minutes warm down run and a 3.4km run made up of a 5 minute warm up and 4 x 400m intervals. My app is predicting a 63 minute 10k. I have managed this hilly course in 64 minutes, so with a bit of determination I’d like to be able to say this is perfectly possible. Last year I struggled with a foot injury to do it in 68 minutes and was just glad to get round, so this year, feeling fairly strong, I’d like to do it far faster.

487418_424686827589031_1114747699_n

2 thoughts on “Picking up the 10k baton

Leave a Reply

