One Step Forward

I’ve never felt more strongly that the old saying ‘one step forward, two steps back’ could apply more adeptly to my situation. From a post of near elation the other day, where I’d finally made tentative running steps on my trusty old treadmill after six weeks of inactivity, I struggled to walk any real distance the following day without that familiar searing pain in my left hip. It stops me dead, that’s how sore it is. I’ve been caught within sight of the car and unable to move any further towards it without several rests and tears streaming down my face. It’s no joke.

But today, after a few days of rest and recuperation, I feel well enough to give another short run a try. I’m nothing if not determined; I will get back on track. I’m actually thinking of a two mile trail run with my faithful running partner, Murphy Dog, and, if I can persuade him, my hubbie. Having hubbie there will restrict my speed and stop me from doing anything silly.

Last year I ran 473 miles. I had wanted to round that up to 500 by Hogmanay, but it wasn’t to be. 473 was my total and I’m proud of that. I’ve run further in a year and trained for less races, but it’s not the quantity that’s important anymore, it’s the quality.

IMG_0952

2014 was a strange running year for me. I started the year with Plantar Fasciitis, which took an age to heal, and then picked up various injuries as I trained for three half marathons. I’d planned on a few more shorter races, but injuries and illnesses got in the way and I managed only a 5k and a 10k at either end of the season. I learned to listen to my body and opt out of races, missing two 10ks in mid-season. It took me a couple of frightening asthma attacks to start listening, but I got there. I finished the year with Bursitis on the hip, taking me into 2015 with a wince and a limp.

I’ve no idea what 2015 has in store for me, it’s probably better that I don’t know. I have decided to scale things down a bit though and just aim for one half marathon in October and concentrate more on improving my speed over shorter distances. I’ll be looking at more 5k and 10k races and I’m looking at some trail races too. Maybe I just overdid things last year and I’m paying the price now. I do vow to enjoy running in 2015, it’s the only resolution I’m making. Running with a smile has to be better than running with a grimace!

9 thoughts on “One Step Forward

  1. Getting back from injury can be really frustrating but it sounds like you’re taking the right approach. Take it easy, listen to your body and, most importantly of all, enjoy yourself! I’m looking forward to reading more about your running this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh dear, you seem to get more than your share your share of injuries Julie. Just take it very easy for a while, concentrating on enjoying some steady running rather than doing any actual training (which is what I do nowadays) and I’m sure things will come good in the end.
    We’d a wonderful week in your corner of the world, celebrating New Year with some fabulous runs along the Solway coast, though New Year’s day was pretty grim.
    All the best to you…..

    1. Hi Gordon, Happy New Year! I’m pleased that you enjoyed your break here in Dumfries and Galloway. It’s often a forgotten region, as Scotland goes, which is very sad. I chose to live here nearly 25 years ago and have had no regrets in my choice!

Leave a Reply

