The Benefits of Ginger Tea

It’s Thursday. Today I went to see my chiropractor who was astonished by my progress since I last saw him just before Christmas. Clearly I not totally out of the woods; I’m still running short distances slowly and leaving two full days for recovery, but I’m much improved. I didn’t, for example, hit the roof when he applied pressure to my knee. He was able to work my IT Band without me swearing – those kind of small, but noticeable improvements.

I’ve worked hard, loosening off my IT Band and Sartorius using a combination of a wooden massager from The Body Shop and a battery operated hand held infra-red massager. Icing my lower back and hip has helped reduce the inflammation, but my revelation has been the drinking of Ginger Tea.

Ginger is a traditional natural treatment for inflammation, sickness, migraines, high blood pressure, asthma…the list was seemingly endless. Some scientific studies, especially into the effect of ginger on some cancer cells, is astonishing. However, I have been purely interested in using it to reduce inflammation around my hip. I bought some organic ginger and lemon tea bags and have used these in place of the tea I would normally drink during the day. It’s pleasant to drink and I’ve actually stopped having to take ibuprofen. I might just be ‘getting better’, but the coincidence is strong.

I’ve decided that I will run in Saturday’s Great Winter Run 5k. I will again struggle up Arthur’s Seat in Edinburgh’s Holyrood Park, only to hurtle down the other side along with 5000 other mad runners. The weather forecast is chilly and breezy which, translated, means freezing and windy as hell. It’ll be half an hour of madness and I’m looking forward to it. I’ll make it round. It won’t be a startling time, but neither was last year’s with Plantar Fasciitis wreaking havoc. One year I’ll go to Edinburgh in January totally fit!

Me and hubby in 2012, crossing the line hand in hand!

We had planned to caravan over the weekend, but the weather warnings have meant we’ve had to cancel our booking and find a hotel instead. Not quite what we were looking forward to, but at least I get a rest from cooking and washing up!

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “The Benefits of Ginger Tea

  1. Great to hear that things are on the mend. I can’t believe you’re running up Arthur’s Seat! Last time I was in Edinburgh I struggled to walk to the top – that was before the running days though. 😉
    Sounds like a lot of fun though, especially if you get a nice clear day for it. Enjoy! 🙂

    1. It’s not as bad as you think – we run up the road that goes around the volcano. It’s still a REAL climb for 3k, but the 1k downhill is great fun 🙂 The uphill section will near kill me, but what the hell!

  2. Glad to hear you are on the mend, brave move to do 5k event, but will give you confidence and!! Something to enjoy after the trauma after the last few weeks.
    Good luck
    IanB

  3. The weather will stop you thinking about your ailments LOL😄 and! The sin off will be moe DNS’s so you will have a higher finishing position!
    See all positive – enjoy your day, whatever😄

Leave a Reply

