Back to Square One

I’m posting this from the comfort (term used loosely; you’ll see why shortly) of my armchair, sadly looking out at the beautiful frosty and sunny morning. Over the last couple of days that familiarly sickening pain has crept back into my left leg and I feel as if I’m back at square one again.

Yesterday I ran out of painkillers and spent the afternoon having to sit down every few minutes. I can’t even stand without being in pain and walking any distance is extremely painful. I haven’t run since Monday past, to begin with because I was busy and kept putting it off, but latterly simply because I just can’t stomach the thought of it, never mind the deed.

I really don’t know what to do next. I honestly thought that I was on the road to recovery, but this set back has dented my self-belief. I will have to return to the doctor. I’m coping by taking more than the recommended dose of ibuprofen, which I know isn’t ideal but it won’t kill me either, and resting as much as I can. I am being careful with that, honestly I am! I’m icing my lower back and hip and massaging my upper leg muscles. These hip stretches might help too; some gentle yoga might be more beneficial to me just now than trying to run at all. The greater good and all that.

I’m beginning to suspect that this has a more fundamental basis. Apparently bursitis on the hip can be caused when you have uneven leg lengths and I know that I do. Perhaps now is the time to get that fixed and ask the doctor about orthotics?

4 thoughts on “Back to Square One

  1. Oh no! That’s not good! 😦
    Definitely talk to the doc about orthoptics. I know someone who had the same issue with one leg being longer than the other and it really helped. Whatever the root of the problem, there will be away round it so hang in there. 🙂

  2. Hi Julie that sucks (as our friends across the water say). I know exactly how you feel, not that it helps. Have you seen a sports physio as well? They might have some ideas. One of my local univ does inserts at a much cheaper price, that might be an idea for you? You’ll be back and running again 🙂

Leave a Reply

