Treading Water

NothingToSeeHmm, it’s true I’m afraid! I’ve got an x-ray appointment in a week’s time, just to rule out anything more sinister than inflammation or knots i.e. arthritis. I’ve done nothing really to speak of since I last posted here, not even yoga. I’m taking Naproxen which apparently is also given to horses! Considering I once poked fun at a fellow runner for using horse liniment I think that’s hilariously ironic! Unfortunately the pain isn’t any better, despite doing next to nothing. Walking further than a few hundred yards has me creased up. I’m actually considering buying a walking stick!

But I am beginning to wonder if I have bursitis. Descriptions I am reading of the pain associated with bursitis of the hip is quite different to the pain I’m experiencing. Bursitis pain is generally felt at the hip and down the outside of the leg. My pain is largely in the groin, with referred pain down the front of my leg.

I found this site helpful. Blogger Heidi Dawson is a Graduate Sports Rehabilitator and a runner. In this section she describes differing injuries and I think my injury relates closest to pectineus injury, rather than bursitis. Of course there might be a bit of both! I’ve been referred for physiotherapy, so maybe I can find out more when that first appointment comes through?

I’ve been looking at low impact forms of exercise. A friend suggested cycling, but I was concerned about the rotational effect on my hip and discounted that. The nearest swimming pool is a 20 mile round trip away, so not very handy, and walking hurts! I’m not entirely sure what that leaves me with! I just don’t feel the buzz doing yoga. Maybe it’s because I have to set up the Wii and do the poses in the living room, rather than hide in the cabin where I keep my treadmill and run in peace. Maybe it’s because running is what I want to do and if I can’t do that I don’t want to do anything.

Maybe I’m just making excuses.

8-Excuses-You-Cant-Use-to-Avoid-Saving-for-Retirement

6 thoughts on “Treading Water

  1. I’m sorry to hear you can’t run at the moment and that you’re in so much pain. I’ve never used horse liniment, but I do use Dog Oil for my leg pain. My mum recommended it and assured me it wasn’t made for or from dogs – it’s just what it’s called. Not sure if I believe her, but it seems to do the trick. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I hope you get to the bottom of your injury and that you get back to running again soon. x

Leave a Reply

